Where Is My Suitcase – Your Turn

Dear readers,

I’m off to France in a few hours, for another year! For those of you who have missed the main raison d’etre of my blog, which is griping about French people, French bureaucrats and French dogs’ standards of sidewalk hygiene providing insightful and pithy observations on French culture and lifestyles, I will be posting hopefully on a daily basis about my encounters with the reality of living in Lyon.

And even though it will be difficult to leave Buffalo, where I have spent a lovely 3 months hibernating, I’ll be going back to this, so it can’t be all that bad:

Lyon.

I might be offline for a few days as I attempt to settle into my old/new home; also, mundane things such as making sure I have an iron and nice clothes for my first day of workย  on Monday might take precedence over blog posting.

So, I’d like to encourage you to leave a comment in the combox to let me know about yourself, how you found my blog, any aspects of life in France you’d like me to write about in the future, and anything else that strikes your fancy. I’d be very happy to open my inbox once I arrive sad and lonely in France to find some nice words of encouragement, and get to know you better, my dear readers ๐Ÿ™‚

And I promise I will not resort to emotional manipulation any more after today!

 

 

10 responses to “Where Is My Suitcase – Your Turn

  1. My dear, I do hope that: 1) we will be able to visit you when you are all settled in your French life, 2) you will be able to visit us when we are all settled in our new house. Bear it in mind :-).

    Bonne chance et bisous!
    D.

  2. Oh Lord, Dagmara has spoken French!

    We’re keeping our fingers crossed for you, even though it’s totally unnecessary, as you will be brilliant anyhow.

  3. Tereferekuku :-P. Do not connect my name, the French language and Lord’s name in one sentence, young lady!

  4. Its been a while since you have posted now. So one recommendation from me: Keep posting regularly ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks Amit… given the lack of heartfelt outpourings when I went overseas, I decided people wouldn’t mind if I went MIA… ๐Ÿ™‚ actually I have no time! No apartment! No sleep! but lots and lots of work… :/

  5. Can’t wait to hear more about your European adventures!! I’ll try to keep you posted of my American ones ๐Ÿ™‚ Currently, I am enjoying the lovely TN weather (kidding, it’s raining and cold) but Jon’s home and it couldn’t be more perfect!

    • Yay! so happy for you!!! do keep me posted! I will try to update this regularly but it’s been super busy at work, and a bit difficult settling in (camping out at a friend’s place while looking for an apartment). talk soon!

  6. I found your blog through my own, and I am hooked! It’s a pleasure to read such sophisticated writing, and to vicariously partake of such sophisticated living, in the blog-o-sphere. I live in Tulsa, Oklahoma, where I host a weekly Public Radio program (Folk Salad), and am putting the finishing touches on my memoir, Then There Is No Mountain. I look forward to your posts. A question (which you may choose not to answer, and that’s okay): How is it that you are able to travel so much? Is it work-related? Independently wealthy? Vagabond wanderlust?

    • Hi! Thanks for the nice comments about my blog, I’m glad you enjoy it!

      To answer your questions, I work organizing international conferences, so I’m lucky enough to get to travel a lot! The wanderlust factor has always been there though, so even when I was a poor student, I preferred living in a room big enough only for a bed and desk and spending everything else I could on budget travel! It’s a question of priorities, a lot of the time. Couchsurfing, hitchhiking, and volunteer opportunities are all options!

Leave a Reply

